LimeLight Awards 2019: Shortlisted Nominations Announced

LimeCulture are delighted to announce the shortlisted nominations for the 2019 LimeLight Awards.  The winners will be revealed by Dame Vera Baird QC, Victims Commissioner for England and Wales, during a special ceremony at our inaugural Sexual Violence Liaion Oficer (SVLO) conference on Tuesday 10th December 2019 in London.

The LimeLight Awards are being introduced for the first time for qualified SVLOs and SVMLOs (in Scotland) working in universities and HEIs with the aim of acknowledging the outstanding contributions and achievements of individual SVLOs/SVMLOs, SVLO/SVMLO Teams and SVLO/SVMLO Managers.

LimeCulture are keen to celebrate the excellence, dedication and commitment to supporting victims of sexual violence demonstrated by SVLOs and SVMLOs through their work and will be presenting the awards at our inaugural SVLO Conference on 10th December 2019 in London.

There are 3 LimeLight Awards:

  • Award for an individual SVLO/SVMLO
  • Award for a SVLO/SVMLO Team
  • Award for a SVLO/SVMLO Manager

Here at LimeCulture we have been absolutely blown away by the nominations that have been sent in for this years’ LimeLight Awards. We’ve received brilliant nominations in each of the three categories, which is absolutely fantastic and shows the commitment to support these awards.

All of the categories have now been carefully considered as part of the shortlisting process, by different members of the LimeCulture Core Team so as to be as fair and objective as possible.







LimeLight Awards – Shortlisted Nominees 2019

Award 1: LimeLight Award for Outstanding Achievement by a SVLO or SVMLO

This LimeLight Award celebrates the achievements of an individual SVLO/SVMLO supporting students who has demonstrated commitment, passion and exceptional encouragement and support for their clients.

Our 2019 shortlisted nominations for this award are:

Jill Austen, Buckinghamshire New University

Pete Mandeville, University of Oxford


Award 2:  LimeLight Award for a SVLO or SVMLO Team / Service.

This award looks to recognise and reward UK-based SVLO/SVMLO teams or services of all sizes who are leading the way in the provision of SVLO/SVMLO services, regardless of how long the service has been established, who are delivering new and innovative practice.

Our 2019 shortlisted nominations for this award are:

University of Oxford

University of Stirling


Award 3: LimeLight Award for an Inspirational SVLO/SVMLO Manager

This LimeLight award seeks to recognise and reward a SVLO/SVMLO Manager who has taken a fresh approach to leading, developing and managing an SVLO/SVMLO Service or Team.

Our 2019 shortlisted nominations for this award are:

Julie Spencer, University of Lincoln

Annie Jennings, London South Bank University

LimeCulture would like to congratulate each of the nominees that have been shortlisted for a LimeLight Award.  With the existence of such a committed and dynamic SVLO workforce, to be nominated for a LimeLight Award is a great achievement.  Each of the shortlisted nominees should be extremely proud of this important professional achievement.

We would also like to express our thanks to everybody who took the time to nominate an SVLO, SVMLO, Team or Manager for a LimeLight Award.  There are clearly many individuals, teams and managers providing excellent services throughout the country.  From reading the impressive nominations, is clear to us at LimeCulture that all of the nominees are truly appreciated by others, whether it be peers, colleagues, managers and/or the people that they support.  Well done to each and every one of you!

The shortlisted nominations will be reviewed by Professor Susan Lea, Vice-Chancellor, University of Hull.  Professor Lea is also a member of LimeCulture’s Independent Advisory Board and has agreed to select the winner of each category, which will be announced at the inaugural conference on 10th December.